Summer Lovin’

I’m standing on the balcony. It’s cold and the trees are bare. For the first time in months I can see the homes on the other side of the hill. I sniff. I shiver. I take a sip of coffee. My mind wanders back to summer.

Island of Vis, Croatia

We pulled over to an excuse of a shoulder along a mountain road to get this picture. The water was so blue we couldn’t stop staring.

Makarska Riviera, Croatia

I’m not sure how we found this secluded spot. I remember the beach being super crowded.

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

You don’t realize it in the picture, but the water was so clear, I could see right down to the bottom of the lake.

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

This poor guy was being picked on by the bigger ducks, before their attention was diverted by a docking boat. I don’t know if he is wallowing in self pity or is simply relieved to have a minute to himself.

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

I love the drama here. One of my favourite pictures from the year.

Trogir, Croatia

This is the image of Croatia that I’ll take away. Blue water. White stone. Red tiled roof. Green mountains.

18 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’

  1. This is Croatia?! I never knew. Are these all taken in roughly the same spot, or all around the country? And your husband really is a great photographer. Even the header shot on your blog speaks.

    • Thanks Sabina. The pictures are taken at different places – the coast, islands and the interiors. I should add captions to the photos. Doing it right now.

  2. So beautiful! I love those moments that stay with you, the images that keep burning in the backs of your eyes, years later. And you got actual photos from it too! Score.

Leave a Reply

