Postcard Series – Hundertwasserhaus

It’s really cold. I can’t feel my nose. I want to pull out the orange from the building’s crooked windows and smear it on the sky. Hands stuffed deep inside my pockets I follow the lazy trail of blue-black mosaic zig past tipsy pillars and zag under dancing ferns. I can see myself living in this crush of colour and awkward shape, muttering nasty somethings at the crowds (and their cameras) outside.

Vienna, January 2010.

*

I’ve taken to writing (myself) postcards when travelling. I’ve this image in my head, of me, thirty-forty years down the line, going through stacks of yellowing postcards, and thinking about the good old days, a cup of hot chai in hand.

17 thoughts on “Postcard Series – Hundertwasserhaus

  1. “I want to pull out the orange from the building’s crooked windows and smear it on the sky.” Man, you’re a good writer! (all your writing, not just that line)

    • Ooh, when I was younger, getting complimented on my handwriting was terribly important to me! That little girl is smiling 🙂

  2. I like this and I will probably bum this idea off of you. I already collect postcards for no apparent reason, so I might as well start writing on them!

  3. Rad! There’s something really special about having tangible relics from one’s travels–emails are cool and all, but to have the handwriting, the coffee stain, the stamp and post mark… I see one mean scrapbook in your future!

  4. Looks like i am one of the last in line to say great idea! The idea of a postcard is so nice, but i’ve am so lazy to send it to anyone. never thought of one to myself!

Leave a comment