Dubrovnik Dairies – The Laundry Line

I have the city to one side and the sea on another, but my eyes are locked on to this window. It opens out to the walkway on the wall, unwittingly inviting a stream of tourists in. I can’t imagine living with this kind of pressure, let alone drying out my laundry for the world to see.

Three rope strings hold half a wardrobe, white sheets and vests hide the intimates ever so slightly. Multicoloured clips stand in a crooked line, their uneven teeth clamped tightly over the cloth.

When the sea pushes a slight breeze inwards, the line sways and so do the clean clothes. Maybe it’s just in my head but I catch a whiff of aromatic detergent.

A butterfly of guilt flits about but I can’t move away before taking a picture. A few feet below me a black cat scurries over sprigs of lavender and past ancient stones, the very things that make this city special, and yet it is this seemingly mundane shot that I can’t tear away from.

*

This post has been entered into the Grantourismo and HomeAway Holiday-Rentalstravel blogging competition

9 thoughts on “Dubrovnik Dairies – The Laundry Line

    • Haha, thanks. To be honest, I was just too lazy to write long posts. I’m having fun writing these though. Maybe I’ll make it a thing 🙂

  1. I love taking laundry on the clothesline photos too, Neha. Somehow you make other people’s underwear sound far more poetic than I ever could, though.

Leave a Reply

